Online Help > Entries

Synchronizer

Description

 

The Synchronizer family is a category of entries that can maintain Remote Desktop Manager in sync with an external data source. It will create sessions from information obtained from the source.

 

You should use security to prevent non-privileged users from using them.

 

Our recommendations are;

 

1.Disable the "Synchronize automatically" setting. If enabled, it runs after every data source refresh.

 

2.Use our "command line" feature and schedule a task to run it at the frequency of your choice. You can get the proper command line in the advanced properties of the synchronizer itself.

 

3.If the synchronizer changes a lot of sessions, it may be best to use a "RDM service account", meaning an account not used by one of your users. It will help clear our historical data from our logs.

 

Remote Desktop Manager has the following synchronizers:

 

Active Directory: Creates session entries for each computer in Active Directory.

Comma Separated Values (CSV): Create entries for devices. See Import Strategies and File Format for more information about using the wizard and entry templates.

Spiceworks

ConnectWise Control (ScreenConnect)

Hyper-V: Creates sessions for virtual machines on a Hyper-V server.

Device (router, switch firewall)

VMWare

Entries (.RDM, .PVM): Synchronize entries from a Remote Desktop Manager file.

Amazon EC2: Create session entries for virtual machines on the web service.

KeePass Xml Synchronizer: Create credential or website entries.

 


 

Duplicate entries

If running the synchronizer results in duplicate entries or other things you did not expect with entries, configure Action on entry mismatch. The option is on the Advanced tab in the Synchronizer entry properties.

 

OPTION

DESCRIPTION

Action on entry mismatch

Choose the action to be executed when there is a mismatch between the entries:

None: No action will be taken on the mismatch entry.

Delete: The mismatch entry will be deleted.

Move to: Move the mismatch entry to a designated folder.

Make expired: The mismatch entry won't be deleted, but will be expired and unusable. It can only be reactivated by an administrator.