Please enable JavaScript to view this site.

Specific Settings

Description

Specific Settings are used to override the properties of an entry. Several settings can be overridden, such as the credentials or the display mode. There are two types of Specific Settings: user Specific Settings and local machine Specific Settings.

User Specific Settings override an entry's properties for a single user.

Local Specific Settings override an entry's properties for all users of a specific device.

This feature is only available when using an Advanced Data Source. A setting on the data source allows usage of Specific Settings. Contact your administrator if the menu is grayed out.

If both User Specific Settings and Local Specific Settings are defined on the same entry, Local Specific Settings have the priority.

 

These can also be accessed by using the right-click on an entry and going to Edit User/Local Specific Settings.

Context menu – Edit – User and Local Specific Settings

Context menu – Edit – User and Local Specific Settings

Specific settings indicator

An indicator icon is displayed in the dashboard when an entry with Specific Settings is selected. Click on the icon to open the Specific Settings dialog.

Specific Settings indicator

Specific Settings indicator

Workflow

In the majority of cases, editing the Specific Settings displays the following dialog:

User Specific Settings

User Specific Settings

Specific settings are context sensitive, and several settings might not be available for some entry types.