Online Help > Commands > Administration > Management > User Management

User Management - Permissions

Description

 

The Permissions section allows for managing permissions with Security Groups. When entries are not secured, users can view and access these entries without any restriction.

 

Since Remote Desktop Manager version 12, we recommend using the Role Based Security System to restrain access. This security system offers a more flexible system using roles and permissions.

 

Settings

 

By default, access with security groups is managed with the simplified security, which means all basic rights the user has in its settings are granted if the user has the security group access.

 

Simplified Security

User Management - Permissions

User Management - Permissions

 

Once security groups are created, check the Has Access box to grant access to entries secured with these security groups.

 

Has Access means that the user can perform basic actions based on its rights (Add, Edit, Delete). Set these rights from General section of the User Management when the User Type is set to Restricted User.

 

User Rights

User Rights

 

Advanced Security

With the advanced management of security groups, decide which rights are granted to users when granting access to the security group.

 

When creating a user, the Add, Edit, and Delete rights are public rights. This means that the users can perform these three actions on unsecured entries.

These rights are also the most basic access that can be granted to users and security group permissions cannot be used if the rights is not granted.

 

User Management - Rights

User Management - Rights

 

All security groups are listed in the grid below and permissions are assigned using the corresponding columns. As shown below, a user that does not have a specific right cannot be granted the permission related to this right.

 

User Management - Security Groups

User Management - Security Groups

 

For higher security, its a best practice to set security groups on all the root level folders. This ensures that there are no public folders and that you have good control over the activity in your system.

 

Granting the View permission also allows the user to launch/open entries of that group.

 

OPTION

DESCRIPTION

View

Allows the user to View AND USE the entries for that security group.

Add

Allows the user to add entries in groups/folders for that security group.

Edit

Allows the user to Edit the entries for that security group.

Delete

Allows the user to Delete the entries for that security group.